Alias Ugly

WebGL just got beat hard with the ugly stick. As reported by Ken Russell of the Chrome team, there was a graphics driver issue on “some Mac OS hardware” that caused a nasty bug which corrupted memory. The culprit turned out to be antialiased rendering, that great technique for smoothing out jaggy lines along edges by blending adjacent pixels. The Chrome team decided to fix the bug by turning antialiasing off on all offending machines until Apple deals with a couple of bugs in their NVIDIA drivers. This sounds safe enough, and I can’t blame them. Better safe than sorry, especially when it comes to trashing computer memory.

Except that it turns out that when citing “some Mac OS hardware” Ken meant: “The affected machines are those with NVIDIA and Intel GPUs.” Um, that’s pretty much any Macbook. Including mine. Suddenly one day some awesome WebGL demos I wrote got visibly less awesome after Chrome auto-updated. Then I checked the same demos in Firefox and it turns out they followed suit and recently pushed a similar fix. The net result is that several of my previously beautiful projects now look shite. I am seriously bummed.

I could investigate one of several techniques for doing my own antialiased rendering via writing custom GLSL shaders. But that’s some R&D and work load I hadn’t been budgeting for. What would be much better is if Apple fixes this situation ASAP. Dean Jackson from Apple is on the case (thanks for the email replies Dino!) and I hope they fix it soon! If you’re having issues like I am, maybe add your voice to the chorus. The email archive for this thread contains info on the already-filed bug reports and an address for filing new bugs with Apple.

Just a heads-up for everyone who may have wondered why their WebGL got ugly overnight… meantime I am seriously considering (shudder) buying a new Windows laptop to show off my stuff. Somebody stop me.

1 comment so far

  1. tparisi on

    Take heart, true believers! I have it on good authority that this issue has been fixed and the fix will make it into an OS update VERY SOON. Not soon enough for me :-o…


Leave a Reply

